This Place of Memory: A Texas Perspective

google preview

You are about to leave the UNT Press website.
Please select from one of the following:

Editor: Joyce Gibson Roach
Contributor: Elmer Kelton, Paul Patterson, Lionel Garcia, Robert Compton, Red Steagall, Judy Alter, Robert Flynn, Tim Seibles, Clay Reynolds, F. E. Abernethy, Betsy Colquitt, James Ward Lee
Paperback Price: $12.95

You are about to leave the UNT Press website. Please select from one of the following:

Buy this book from Texas A&M University Press Consortium .
(Distributor for UNT Press books)

Buy this book from Amazon
Buy this book from Barnes & Noble
Buy this book from IndieBound

Paperback ISBN-13: 9780929398327
Paperback ISBN-10: 929398327
Physical Description: 6x9. 161 pp. 10 b&w photos
Publication Date: April 1992
  • National Cowboy Hall of Fame Western Heritage Award for Short Fiction, 1992

"These personal essays, poems, fiction . . . are best savored . . . amid the quiet comforts of your own special place of memories. It can bring forth tears, as well as smiles, of remembrance and recognition. It can leave you yearning to go home again—to people and places that now live only in your heart."—Dallas Morning News

"The perfect bedside companion . . . like fine candy—so good you may not be able to confine yourself to one or two pieces before bedtime. "—Fort Worth Star-Telegram

"Offers some thought-provoking images and ideas about the notion of place, that home is where the heart is, whether that place is Dallas or Dimebox or somewhere that only exists in the back of the mind."—Texas Observer

"Even if you aren't a dyed-in-the wool Texan, this book will help you to understand Texans' remembrance and longing for a people, a way of life that seemed to belong just to Texas."—Denton Record-Chronicle

About Author:

JOYCE GIBSON ROACH, a member of the Texas Institute of Letters and member and past president of the Texas Folklore Society and a fellow in the Texas State Historical Association, is also a two-time winner of the Spur Award from Western Writers of America and is the winner of the Carr P. Collins Award for non-fiction from the TIL.

See Other Publications Edited By: