Bookcover: Slouching toward Zion and More Lies

Slouching toward Zion and More Lies

Robert Flynn — author. 
Contributors: Forward by Rev. Kyle Childress

October, 2004






Hardcover, E-Book


About Flynn's Slouching toward Zion and More Lies

Robert Flynn has gathered twenty-three stories that have hope, faith, and love as their common denominator. They are funny, political, and more than a bit prophetic as well as being superbly crafted.

Included in the collection are “The Rest of the Story,” wherein the author retells select Biblical stories and parables supplying heretofore expurgated details with an exquisitely agonizing truth; “Ten Mistakes God Made,” which treats with candor religious politics, elitism, and the unexplained nature of what makes us believe; “The Trouble with Eve” and “Redemption,” which are at heart stories of how one grapples with, avoids, questions, and finally resigns to—love; and “Chicken Soup for the Damned,” a fable corporate biography retelling of the Savior’s story.

“Flynn’s prose cuts like St. Michael’s sword slicing through the smug heart of a believer too comfortable in his faith. He is to southern Baptists what Flannery O’Conner is to southern Catholics. He is raw, woolly, and wild-eyed, and very necessary.” —Jill A. Essbaum, Concordia University, author of Heaven

Rev. Kyle Childress has served as the pastor of the Austin Heights Baptist Church in Nacogdoches, Texas, since 1989.


  • The Trouble with Eve
  • Do You Have a Rapture Lawyer
  • The Baptist Sex Position
  • Reasons for Being a Southern Baptist
  • Ten Mistakes God Has Made
  • If You’re There, God, Pick Up
  • Questions Catholics Never Ask
  • Slouching toward Zion
  • Questions Southern Baptists Never Ask
  • Born Again Jesus
  • Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting at the Baptist Church
  • Onan Comes in From the Cold
  • Questions Mormons Never Ask
  • Testimonial Time in the Baptist Church
  • The Rest of the Story
  • Next Year in Oberammergau
  • Mission to Mexico
  • Radio WWJS
  • Questions Secular Humanists Never Ask
  • Redemption
  • The Church Softball League
  • Chicken Soup for the Damned
  • Desert Duel

About the Author

ROBERT FLYNN, a native of Chillicothe, Texas, is the author of eight novels, among them North To Yesterday (winner of awards from the Texas Institute of Letters and the National Cowboy Hall of Fame, and named one of the Best Books of the Year by the New York Times) and Wanderer Springs (winner of a Spur Award from Western Writers of America). He is also the author of Growing Up a Sullen Baptist and Other Lies from the University of North Texas Press. He lives in San Antonio with his wife, Jean.

More from Robert Flynn