Bookcover: Grace: A Novel

Grace: A Novel

vol. 3: Evelyn Oppenheimer Series

Jane Roberts Wood — author. 
Subject: Fiction

October, 2009






Paperback, Hardcover, E-Book


About Wood's Grace

In the east Texas town of Cold Springs in 1944, the community waits for the war to end. In this place where certain boundaries are not crossed and in a time when people reveal little about themselves, their problems, and their passions, Jane Roberts Wood exposes the heart of each of four families during the last year of World War II. Bound together by neighborhood and Southern customs, yet separated by class, money, and family, they are an unforgettable lot, vibrantly brought to life in this “delightfully perceptive and unabashedly romantic” novel (Sanford Herald). As the war grinds to an end, it becomes the catalyst that drives the inhabitants of Cold Springs across the boundaries that had once divided them, taking them to places both chaotic and astonishing.

“A rare novel: intelligent, lyrical, devoid of coyness and manipulative plot turns–a book for old and young.” —Austin American-Statesman

“A genuine Texas treasure.” —Dallas Morning News

“Wood handles whatever she touches with delicate precision, and she leaves an impression, not of the bitterness of life, but of the tenderness of the human soul.” —The New Mexican

About the Author

JANE ROBERTS WOOD is the award winning author of the Lucy Richards trilogy: The Train to Estelline, A Place Called Sweet Shrub, and Dance a Little Longer, as well as Grace and Roseborough, all published in paperback by UNT Press. Wood is a Fellow of both the National Endowment of the Arts and the National Endowment of the Humanities. She and her husband, J. W. “Dub” Wood, live in the horse country of Argyle, Texas, with their two dogs.

More from Jane Roberts Wood

Evelyn Oppenheimer Series: Recent Titles

See all titles in our Series: Evelyn Oppenheimer Series